Get the Ball Rolling

Full disclosure.  I’m not, by nature a particularly tidy person.  I have gone weeks grabbing socks or underwear out of the laundry baskets because I couldn’t be bothered to walk the basket back to my room to put them away.  Every time my son walks down the hall he pushes the closet door closed (that I left slightly ajar) and I’ve even hand washed the same 2 or 3 plates, sets of silverware, and glasses over and over for longer than I care to admit because I didn’t feel like unloading the dishwasher.

Recently though, I decided to give something a try;   making the bed every day.  I read a FB post about how making your bed every day will be life-changing.  And I get bonus points because I roped Brad into helping me. So every day before we leave for work we make the bed. Sometimes together or we alternate depending on who has an extra 5 minutes.

It’s become a habit.  In the beginning I had to work hard to remember to make the damn thing.  There were quite a few days when I’d be almost out the door and have to come back in.  But now that it’s a part of the daily routine, I don’t think about it.  I just do it.

So not sure if it’s life changing but I do notice some trickle downs.  Now I tend to pick up things on the floor and put them away; the cat toys, shoes, pajamas, etc.  Coming home to a tidy kitchen or picked up room is nice. So while the house isn’t pristine by *any* means  (at least not yet), I’m trying.  And that counts, right?

I liken it to training for a race.

Taking just a few minutes every day to get yourself organized before heading out for a run (how far, how fast, where to find the hills, where to find the bathrooms, whether you need fuel or water) will make a huge difference in your training.

Then before you know what’s happened, it’s become a habit and *not* doing it feels weird.  And maybe once you tackle the training you’ll start making your bed.  Stranger things have happened.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

