Get Out. Get Fit.

I can’t remember the last time I stepped foot in a gym for a class or a workout.  And I used to be a very devoted gym-goer.  The bike, treadmill (oh yes I did), weights, aerobics, the pool, the locker room.  Yep.  Did it all.

But now?  Nope. Can’t do it.  Won’t do it.  I prefer to take my workouts outside.  I like the fresh air, the elements, the changing scenery.  (Not such a big fan of critters but luckily encounters are few).

Luckily I live in a place where it works most of the year.  Because I’m an early-morning exerciser I get my exercise done before it heats up.  If it’s cold I’ll layer up and when it rains I’ll add a jacket.   What’s the adage?  There’s no bad weather, just poor clothing choices?  So true.

I don’t think of exercise as an option so I have to adapt.  We had a particularly rainy winter which proved challenging for my long runs, but I was training for a marathon so I had to get out.  Weather be damned.

Which brings me back to a previous post.  Have a goal and it takes care of any excuses.

So if you want to take your workout to another level, take a page from the Mom Handbook, circa 1976; just go outside and play.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

