The Bare Minimum – Travel Edition

I am pretty disciplined about my workout schedule.  Even on vacation.  Whether a 10 day Hawaiian getaway or a 4 day road trip, I set a plan to get in the bare minimum of exercise each day.

Bare minimum?  Yep.  Just enough to break a sweat and stick to my schedule.  Because let’s be real  here,  we’re on vacation to take a break, get away and spend time with our family and friends.  Not to log 2 hours on a treadmill at the hotel gym. Unless that’s what you like to do.

But since I that’s not my idea of fun while away I set up a vacation plan.

I’m sure you’re not surprised because if you know me by now, I always have at least one plan in place.

  • Pack your workout clothes.  For a 2 or 3 day trip I bring one set of exercise clothes.  For longer trips I’ll bring 2 sets.  Even on a 10 day trip.  Don’t make that face.  Unless you are slogging in the jungle your clothes won’t be too gross.  But if you can’t bear to wear clothes more than once see below for a laundry hack.

Laundry hack – Rinse or wash your clothes. Ring out as much water as you can.  Lay the damp clothes between two towels and then roll them up tight and then twist the ends of the towels to squeeze any extra moisture out.  Keep squeezing.  Remove from towels and hang them on door knobs, on chairs on the porch.  They’ll be dry by morning.  Promise.  

  • Plan your plan.  I like to alternate between a run day and a strength day on my vacations.  Runs are 20 min (10 minutes out and back along a path or looping around the resort).  Strength days incorporate body weight exercises such as squats, pushups, dips, lunges, burpees, jumping jacks, planks, step ups, etc. creating a circuit that I can do 4 or 5 times.  I also try and do 10 min of yoga every other day or so.  Just because I love doing yoga on a beach or pool deck.  I’ll repeat sun salutations or just play around and throw together moves I like.
  • Be adventurous.  If things are offered at your resort give them a go.  Beach Yoga? Water Aerobics?  SUP lessons?  The reason we exercise is so that we can move our body easily through all kinds of activities.  So move it!  Have fun with it!
  • Allow some rest.  Take a day or two off.  The rest is equally as important as the work.

Finally, don’t forget to wear your sunscreen!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

