The Reach

Goals are important to me.  They are tangible things I can work towards and that really suits my personality.  I don’t do well when I’m not pointed in a direction.  Besides, I’m a validation-whore who needs to have these accomplishments in my memory bank.  Or posted on Facebook.   No surprise there.

I’ve got some races lined up already; a 10K, a 9 mile train run, and I’m on a Ragnar team again and am back to my 5 days a week running schedule.  But I still need that goal race to work towards.

So I’m going to try a 5K.  Correction.  I’m going to try and run my fastest 5K. Thank you Runner’s World, for the motivation!  Their last issue highlighted a training plan for to “Run Your Fastest 5K” and for some reason I ripped out the training plan and set it on my bedside table.  And promptly forgot about it.  Because the 5K is not usually my thing.  But the more I got to thinking and due to a timely FB post that came into my feed from Runner’s World I figured it was time to give it a shot.

So I pulled the plan out from under a stack of books (yes, it was just where I left it last month) and will give it a go. The plan is 10 weeks long and includes a day of speed work, a hill repeat day,a long run and then 2 or 3 short easy run days.

Next up is to pick  a race.  I figure the early to middle of fall to give me the 10 weeks to train.  Like the marathon I’m going to try a new plan that will push me a bit (a lot) out of my comfort zone.

Truthfully, I don’t know if I can do a 20 minute 5K.  But what the hell, I’m willing to give it a shot.  You never know what you can do until you try and do it.  Right?

I’ll keep you posted on my experiment and we’ll see what happens.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

