Runners Rule

Tuesdays and Thursdays I run with my friend Stephanie.  We stick to the same route, distance and run at a pace so we are able to catch up on each other’s goings on while we run.  We also find random stuff funny, often funny enough to double us over laughing.   Plus we share an appreciation and love of sarcasm.  Stephanie is one of those go-to friends that if I was in a pinch I’d call her and I know she’d do the same.  In fact, these personality traits are common in most of my running pals.

Lisa and I ran 3 days a week for years and completed 9 marathons together.  We laughed a lot during our runs and usually could solve any problem in 4 miles or less.  We ran through all of the things that life throws at you and then some.  Lisa’s enthusiasm for adventure was a bonus.  She was always up for a run or race; whether she’d trained or not.  Plus Lisa is an aesthetician so you can run and she can give you a facial after!  (shamelss plug – go see her at La Jolie Marin).

My friend Barbara  and I both had little ones at home when we started training.  We ran at the same pace and logged countless Wednesday evenings running on Crown Road and chatting about life with kids.  She also has a wicked sense of humor and a very keen sarcastic bent.  Plus she’d give you the shirt off your back if you needed it.  And Barbara is one of those runners that will tell you she hasn’t been running much but kick your ass on a run.  But you love her anyway!

And there’s the gals and guys who I run with on Sundays and also my Ragnar teammates.   These friends and teammates not only keep me motivated, they inspire me.  I’m grateful for my running tribe!  Runners rule!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

