Hating on Heat

I don’t like to run in the heat and I definitely don’t perform well in the heat.  And this fact was confirmed in April at the Ragnar So Cal event.  I had 2 long legs, a 12.2 miler and a 9.8 miler starting at 2:00 pm and noon respectively.  Both runs were on sunny days with temps in the low 70’s.  Argghh.

For me when the temperature rises I slow down, take more breaks and then head-trip about it.  Why am I so slow? What’s wrong with me?  I should have trained harder.  The fact is, warmer temperatures do affect your running.   Especially if you haven’t been running in the heat.

It’s all about the training.  How does a runner get faster?  You run faster.  Same thing with heat.  To get better in the heat you have to train in the heat. Sound advice, right?

So with summer around the corner I’ve decided to take on the heat and, well, run with it instead of against it.  Not, all of my runs will be in the middle of the day but I’ll start adding some shorter runs then gradually build up.  We’ll see how it goes.  I’m confident that I’ll be able to do it.  I just have to do it.

So a Camelbak, and some serious sunscreen is in my future.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

