Off to the Races

We’re deep into Spring and that, boys and girls means it’s prime running season.  And more importantly, racing season.   I’ve got 3 races in the bag so far (a 4 miler, a Ragnar and a 10 miler) and 5 more planned.  Here’s what I have on the books.

Angel Island Adventure Race – Angel Island.  Sunday,  May 7, 2017  (http://www.aiadventurerace.org/)

Ok, I’ll be honest.  All I know is that my teammate Stephanie and I have to bring a bike.  Just one.  Maybe if I play it right I can have her do most of the work and I can just yell directions.  Ha ha.  It looks like a lot of fun but I have to figure out what we are doing.  I mean, the race in in a week.

Bank of Marin Running Festival – Novato, CA.  Sunday, May 21, 2017 (http://www.bankofmarinrunfest.com/)

A half marathon, 10K, 5K and a kids 1 mile run.  It’s the perfect family event!  You can register online at the event page above or head over to Rush49 and buy a discount voucher:

Bank of Marin – Rush 49 Voucher

Once you buy the voucher you use the code they give you on the main registration page (you use it like a discount code).  There are a few extra steps but the savings are worth it!

The Giant Race – San Francisco, CA.  Sunday, August 27, 2017  (http://www.race-sfgiants.com/san-francisco)

This will be the 3rd year in a row for this race.  I like the 10K but they have a half marathon and a 5K.  It’s crowded.  It’s hard to maneuver.  But it’s a lot of fun.  You start in front of AT&T park and finish inside the park.  Last year we had a hard time finding our post-race beer.  We won’t make that mistake again.

Night Sweats Trail Run – Rodeo Beach, CA.  Saturday, September 9, 2017 (Night Sweats Trail Run)

This race has three of my favorite things.  Darkness.  Hills.  Trails.  I’ll be doing the 15K but there’s also a marathon option if you feel like really challenging yourself.  The thing I love about this race is that it’s very chill.

Don’t get me wrong, these folks know how to put on a race and take safety and the race particulars very seriously but the vibe is more of a group run vs. a race.  It’s one of my all-time fav events.

Run as One.  The Can Do! Community 5K, Fun Run and Festival – San Rafael, CA.  Sunday, October 15, 2017. (http://www.cando4schools.com/family-fun-run-and-festival)  Registration OPENS soon!

This first time event is a fundraiser for the schools in the Dixie School District.  I’m not running the race because I’m helping the race committee.  But trust me when I say that the 5K course is PERFECT for runners and walkers alike.  Mark your calendar and stay tuned for more details on this event!

Reebok Ragnar Napa – November 3 and 4, 2017 (https://www.runragnar.com/event-detail/relay/napavalley)

A Ragnar run is something you don’t forget.   It’s the most fun you can have stuck in a van with 5 other runners. Many of the races are lottery only and while the Napa race is closed, there’s still a chance to grab a space in a van.  Check out their Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/events/295876140809470/ a few months before the race to see if any vans are looking for runners. Definitely check back the week or so before.  It gets crazy.  So stay in prime running form, you just may get a shot at the run.

Ok that’s it for the races!  Check them out and if you have one on your calendar that’s super fun, let me know!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

