Settling Up with 2016

As we get closer to flipping the calendar to a new, fresh and shiny year I’m going to take a beat to share my personal punch list of 2016.

Personal Growth

In 2016 I spent a lot of time on this area.  I started listening to motivational and informational podcasts.  I read a few personal development books.  I started to meditate.  Seriously. Meditation.  It all came about when I realized I was working hard but not moving forward; on all fronts.  I felt stuck.   Or maybe it’s a mid-life crisis.  Whatever.  But I like the direction I’m headed towards so something is clicking.

Professional

This year I shut down a small side business working with financial advisors and turned my attention and those extra hours a week to building a personal training clientele.  It has grown slower than I’d like but this year I’m coming in with a stronger game plan to build it up.  

My Boot-Camp program has continued to thrive.  I have a solid group of hardworking participants and it is a lot of fun! At least for me, I’m not always sure how they’re feeling after hill repeats or leg days 🙂 

Most people think boot-camp is my only gig but I also work part-time for an education foundation.  I’m lucky to be able to work close to home, with people I like and be able to do somthething I find meaningful. 

Fitness ( or Phitness if you’d like to stick with the ‘P’ theme)

Yoga.  Marathon training.  Mobility and Daily Burn.  Oh my!  

Yoga came about, well hell, I’m not sure when but probably before summer.  In keeping with my personal development theme and all that, focusing on calming and cleansing breaths with stretching?  Sounds like a good plan. The sad realization of how inflexible my body had become was quickly apparent.  But listen, I was on a mission.  I think I did yoga daily for almost 6 weeks.  And now I’m  keeping up with a few times a week.  An added benefit is not having my kids ask why the lady on the tv can get her head to her knee while I’m still sitting upright.

Marathon training took up 4 months of my year and appeared as a weekly update on this blog.  I upped the ante for this my 10th marathon.  I signed up for a plan, trained really hard and ended up with a PR.  What came out during the training was that I learned to like speed work and running 5 times a week.  

With the marathon training came mobility work.  Its deep and intense work to achieve a greater range of motion through the joints and to release sticky spots through pressure and tension with balls or bands.  All so I could run better and injury free.  Ouch. But ouch in a good way.     

I wanted to push myself as we got close to the holidays so enter Daily Burn.  I’ve done a bunch of their 10-15 minute core workouts and some other short intense workouts.  They’re perfect for a quick workout after I teach or come back from a run.

So that’s my year, in a few hundred words.  As you may have noticed, I’m very goal oriented.  I need to see that my actions will have an outcome. Years ago I would hop on a stationary bike and ride for 30 minutes.  3 or 4 times a week.  No goal and more importantly, NO change.

So sure, you may not want to try yoga or ever want to run a marathon, but if you set some quantifiable, specific goals and put a plan together, think of what you can do.

Wishing you the best in the New Year!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

