Over the Hump

My marathon is in less than 2 weeks away so I’m in what is considered a “taper” phase.  The training has peaked and now I start to scale back; both in mileage and intensity.  In theory it’s so I’m rested and prepared for the race.  In my reality it’s prime-time for freaking out.

Am I ready?  What’s that pain?  IT band, calf strain, tumor?  I’m tired.  I’m hungry, but I shouldn’t be hungry, I’m not running that much.  Do my running shorts still fit?  Am I drinking too much water?  Not enough?  Why didn’t I do more core work? Am I ready?  Why did I do this?  Am I ready????

At this point I have to let it go and trust in the training.

The Plan

I ran into a weather snag this week.  It rained cats and dogs on Saturday morning so I only did strength training instead of run my usual 30 minutes.  I tried to time my planned 16 mile run on Sunday around the weather report.   I saw a gap of dry weather between 7 and 9am.  The weather people lied.

I got 15 minutes into my run before it started to rain. It was just a sprinkle, no big deal. Then it got harder and harder still.  At 8 miles I had to loop back home and change into dry clothes.  I got another 3 miles done before I had to turn back again.  I tried to wait out the rain and complete my remaining 5 miles but that 45 minute break was just enough time for my muscles to tighten up.  At a half a mile on my 3rd attempt of the day it started to rain again.  I said a very loud expletive and went home.  I was done, it was not going to happen!

Even with the shortened run on Sunday I felt good about the week.   Here’s the recap. week-14-1

The Food

With a hectic schedule it’s easier for me to prepare and even cook dinner in the morning.  It’s not uncommon for me to come home after boot-camp on Monday mornings and make a pot of soup, putting chicken breasts and salsa in the oven to bake and cooking a pot of pinto beans.  I wouldn’t say I’m a great cook but I enjoy cooking and having healthy food on hand.

Plus, when you make the components of a meal, say the chicken and beans, you can do a lot with it.  Make a salad or rice bowl for work lunch, tacos for dinner or even layer it in a dish with corn tortillas some cheese and salsa for a Mexican-inspired lasagne.  My daughter complains that I don’t buy food.  I tell her I buy ingredients to make the food.  She’s unimpressed.

Yoga/Stretching and Body Work

Here’s the go to stretches and mobility work that are part of my regimen.

  • The Couch Stretch
  • Half Pigeon
  • The “Four”
  • Foam roller – hamstrings, IT band, quads, lower back
  • LAX ball – Glutes (all over – focusing on tender and tight spots), hip area – insertion points, calf, feet and shins
  • Pelvic tilts and leg crossovers for the Psoas

Some of these like the pelvic tilts, leg crossovers and LAX ball I do prior to running or my workout and the others for after running so it’s splitting these 6 things in half.  Give or take.

This training week is light as is next week. Except for that marathon, that is.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

