Eleventy Seven

I miss trails.  I miss the dirt.  When my race is over I’m going to spend a lot of time off the streets.

Now onto the training recap for Week 11.

The Plan

I had a long rainy run on Tuesday and then another long run on Thursday that included  3 – 2 mile intervals plus a warm up and cool down.  The speed work takes the most out of me physically and mentally but I really can’t complain.  I signed up for this and wanted to be pushed.  So here we are.

One of the more unique runs that I do is a progression run.  This is probably a standard training run in coaching circles but I’ve never done one before I started this plan.  It’s a simple concept; 30 minutes easier, 30 minutes a bit harder, then 30 minutes a bit harder to finish it off.  The middle 30 for me is the hardest part.  You push harder but have to hold back or you won’t be able to finish at that faster pace.  They are tricky but I appreciate the training philosophy behind them.

Here’s how my week ended up.

week-11-1

The Food

I feel better when I eat better that’s for sure.  Making a big pot of soup on a Sunday and having healthy options on hand is key.  If things are quieter this week I’m going to look for an energy bar recipe.  They come in handy in a pinch but find most of them too sweet for my liking.  To the internet I go…and will report back.

Yoga/Stretching and Body Work

I have been religious about a few stretches; the couch and pigeon.  But I do need to spend more time both before and after my runs and workouts.  My LAX ball rolled under the couch about a week ago.  Must find it.  That sucker is like gold!!

So I just started Week 12 of training.   And from the looks of what’s ahead for the next two weeks, we’re not slowing down.  I’m excited for this week; I have some (well actually 10) Yasso 800’s on Thursday and an 18-20 mile  long run (with a fast finish) on Sunday.  It’s going to be challenging.  And fun.  Right??

Wish me luck and if you see me running in the ‘hood, honk and wave.  I enjoy the company!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

