Following the Plan

Today was a really rainy day in my neck o’ the woods.  Luckily I don’t mind the rain.   And even if I did, it wouldn’t matter because I don’t have a back up plan for my training runs.  So into the dark and rainy morning I went and 8.42 miles later I sloshed back to the house, sopping wet head to toe.  Check.

The Plan

Week 10 was a huge week, the highest weekly mileage to date and 2 hard runs.  The first long run on Thursday was 10 miles and 6 of those were at tempo run pace of 8:35 per mile.  It was a good run but I was really tired the rest of the day.

Then the longer run on Sunday was 16-18 miles with the last 6 or 8 of it at marathon pace.  Overall I’d say it was a great run.  My last part was a smidge slower than I planned but there wasn’t any (please forgive the foul language) “mind-fuckery” that often gets in the way of my training.   So I consider it a victory.

Here’s how the week ended.

week-10-1

 

 

 

The Food

Yep.  Still hungry.  But not allowing myself that “oh I’m training for a marathon so I deserve mountains of food”.  I’m just kind of eating what my body needs and allowing some treats.  Wish I could share some very wise nutrition tips but, yeah, nothing.  🙂

Yoga/Stretching and Body Work

Well, something had to give.  And I’m sad that yoga has had to take a back seat to the couch stretch and other pre and post-run stuff.  I fit in a few short practices last week and I’ll be back but I have to cut myself some slack.

The stretching I force myself to do after a run is really helping.  Sure, my body will be tired but I’m not particularly sore.  Ok, when I wake up in the morning after a long run I’m stiff but just until I get moving.  But I’m not in pain.  If that makes sense.

Do I sound a little short this week?  My daughter told me last night that I’ve been snappy and on my run this morning I realized she was right.  So I had to have a family meeting this morning to explain that this training has been long and hard and I still have to work and take care of the normal day to day things that goes with being an adult so I asked them to cut me a little slack.   And I promised to chill a bit.  Then we awkwardly hugged it out.

This week’s training looks interesting.   I don’t have a big run but some speed work on Thursday and Sunday.  We’ll see how it goes.

Thanks for following my journey.  I appreciate the support!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

