Cruising Along

Things are or seem to be ramping up here at marathon training central.  I just completed Week 7. Here’s a recap of my week.

The Plan

It was a week of something old and something new.  First, let’s welcome back to the party our old pal “Hill Repeats”.  After last time’s cray-cray search I already had my hill picked out.  I did try a new loop to get me to the hill which was farther than I thought (surprised?) so my warm up was almost 20 minutes.  Fine.

This time I had 10-12 hills to do at a 5K pace (read:  fast) and each hill repeat was again 60 to 75 seconds.  This time I carried a piece of chalk with me because I have a problem with keeping count when I get tired and I didn’t recall a lot of rocks laying around which I’ve used at Boot-Camp to count intervals or repeats.  However, I digress.

Hill repeats are hard but I felt strong for most of them.  I wrote last week that I worked on some tricks to help me with my head space on the repeats.  You can read it here.

On Sunday I had a “Thirds Progression” run of 90 minutes.  It’s pretty straightforward; you run for 30 minutes, speed up for the next 30 minutes and again for the final 30 minutes.  It’s a tough little run, you have to stay focused and pay attention to your pace and that can be a little distracting.  Also distracting was that I’m so used to basing my runs on mileage I automatically turned around at 4 1/2 miles (because I had 9 miles on my brain, not 90 minutes).  It wasn’t until I hit mile 7 when I realized I was going to have to add on time at the end.  Crap.  Crap.  So when my watch beeped at 9 miles I kept running.  It was a long 6 minutes, let me tell you.  But on the plus side each 30 minute block was faster than the one before.  Mission accomplished.  Here’s how the week turned out.

week-7-1

 

 

 

 

 

The Food

Hungry.  Hungry.  Hungry.  I’m hungry.  And I’m craving meat.  I made a delicious flank steak at home (click here for the recipe from SkinnyTaste) and then we went out for a petite Filet Mignon on Saturday.  And I left nothing on the plate.  See?  Hungry.   If one is not careful, marathon training can result in a weight gain.  And you think you’re logging a 10 mile run you can splurge.  Ha, ha.  Ha.  Nope.  Training is more about quality calories to support the effort.  And even though some treats are sneaking in more often than not (damn you snack size Snickers), the rest of the plan is on track.

Here are 2 things that I’m loving to eat right now that won’t break the calorie bank.

  1. Greek yogurt fruit parfait.  Layer 1/2 c 2% greek yogurt, 1/4 c plain oats, 2 tsp chia seeds, 1/2 c chopped fruit in a bowl and drizzle with honey (1 tsp or so).  It’s filling and tasty.
  2. Popcorn popped in about a tsp of oil is a great snack.  I add cayenne pepper and salt when it’s hot off the stove.  But be careful, the spicy fumes will go directly up your nose and down your throat. So sprinkle, then walk away for a beat before you chow down.

Yoga/Stretching and Body Work

Happy day, yoga made a return.  Just a few times but I realize how much I’ve missed it!  And also my gal over at  Yoga with Adriene.

I also completed reading Ready to Run this past week.  I first mentioned this book a few blog posts ago when I was halfway through it because I thought it was that important.  I won’t sugar coat it.  If you run or have any running-related injuries please go out and buy this book.  It’s no-nonsense, no-BS approach is one I appreciate.

This week marks the halfway point and we’re upping the training.  Hello hill repeats my old friend.  Plus I’m supposed to tack on a mile or 2 warm up or cool down after my half marathon trail run on Sunday.  Hmm?  Honey badger says what?

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

