Hello Fall

It’s September 24th – and summer is officially over.  Except someone forgot to tell Sacramento, CA.

I’m at a volleyball tournament and its in the high 90’s.  A dry heat, mind you, but high 90’s.  And we’re outside under EZ ups before our next match starts.

Correction.  The EZ ups are there, the team found a cool, dark room in the venue and I’m blasting the AC in my car.  Sorry global warming.  It’s hot as balls out here.

Tomorrow I’m running 15 miles down near the bay.  It’s supposed to be another toasty day so I’ll be sure to stay hydrated, wear sunscreen, my sunglasses, a hat and have electrolyte tablets (Nuun) with me.  We’re running early but if there’s not any fog it will warm up quickly. Better safe than sorry.

If like me, you’ll be out running in the last dregs of hot weather be prepared. Speed work, hill repeats, and the like can wait for cooler temps.  If you’re not used to running in the heat go slow, be prepared and you’ll be okey dokey.

And now that I’ve burned up enough fossil fuel I’m heading back out to watch some volleyball.

The things we do for our kids, right?  I know, I wouldn’t have it any other way either.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

