Marathon Training – Race Recap

Yep, it’s a double shot of running for you today!

The Plan

This week was a light mileage week, which was welcomed and appreciated as it was capped off by The Giant Race in San Francisco.  I registered for the 10K which was perfect because I was scheduled to run 50-60 minutes at a long run pace.  I decided to push the pace because, well, it’s a race.  And I have a hard time with that. Competitive spirit and all that.

This race has a big draw so the corrals are really crowded and it takes a while to get to the starting line.  And then it’s pretty thick for the first mile or two which can be a problem if you’re trying to run fast – you get bogged down.

After the past two year’s of running this race I thought I set myself up better by placing myself in a faster pace group so I’d be closer to the front (read: with faster runners) and I wouldn’t have to bob and weave around walkers and slower runners.  Unfortunately I realized that a final port-a-potty stop had to be taken so I got out of my corral before the start and by the time I hopped back in I was closer to the back than I expected.

So I tried to be as polite as I could while I hustled my bustle to open spots.  I did get stuck a few times behind large bottlenecks which was a bit frustrating but hey, it was my fault I had to start at a slower corral than I could run so patience was required and I took opportunities when I could.

At the 3 mile turnaround  there was room and I was able to pick up the pace and got faster at each mile to the end.  I think the training plan is working because even at the 8:28 pace I sped up and I felt strong and was running smoothly.  I’ve been in races where I’ve pushed myself too hard so I know what it feels like to *not* run smoothly.  🙂

My final time was 55:14 which is an average pace of 8:47.  While 90 seconds off my PR from May, I’m super excited that in my age group (F45-49) I placed 19th out of 350.

For those who like to geek-out on running stats, here are my splits.

  • Mile 1 – 9:12
  • Mile 2 – 9:01
  • Mile 3 – 9:02
  • Mile 4 – 8:42
  • Mile 5 – 8:28
  • Mile 6 – 8:20
  • Final .29 –   2:16

Speaking of stats.  Here’s my weekly training recap.

Scheduled Workout

Off

Easy Run             40-50 minutes

Off or X-Train Easy Run             40-50 minutes Off or X-train Off or 30 minute easy run Long Run             45-60 minutes Total Miles
Goal Pace   9:32 to 10:29   9:32 to 10:29   9:32 to 10:29 10K race  
Distance   5.31 x-train 4.60 x-train 3.19 6.29 19.39
Actual Pace   9:26   9:20   9:27 8:47  

The Food

After my breakfast snafu I shared last week, I made a concerted effort to eat earlier.   My new favorite breakfast is a yogurt parfait.  In a bowl layer ¾ c greek yogurt (2%), ½ c oats, ½ c berries, 2 tsp chia seeds and drizzle with honey.  Yum.  And bonus! I can make it before I head out to teach class or run and when I get home it’s ready to go.  And it takes a while to eat so I’m not scarfing it down.

The pot of soup I made last Sunday was perfect for lunches and the dinner planning was very useful as the days got hectic and sports ran late.

I’ll repeat the meal prep this week.  It helps to have things ready to go when needed.  But I think I need some new Tupperware.  I’m missing a bunch of containers but have tons of lids.  Go figure.

Yoga/Stretching and Body Work

I’m still making time for my intensive stretching.  I’m also doing yoga 3 or 4 days a week.  My psoas problem has abated but am still doing the warm up stretches that I was shown.  I notice a difference when I teach class or run if I’ve done just a few minutes of them prior to leaving the house.  And I found the LAX ball under the couch, so I’ve added that back into play.  My feet are happy.  Or at least that’s what I keep telling myself.

Ok  – week 5 starts tomorrow.  There are some interesting hill repeats on the schedule so we’ll see how those go.  Stay tuned!

And thank you to everyone who is commenting and sending encouragement as I train.  I really appreciate it!!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

