Will Run for Bling

I’m running a 10K this weekend (The Giant Race) in San Francisco.  It’s a pretty cool event offering a half marathon, as well as the 10K, a 5K and a kid’s race.

The starting line is outside of AT&T Park, home of the World Champion SF Giants, and the 10K course takes you along the waterfront, past Pier 39 and about halfway into Fisherman’s Wharf where they turn you back.  The half course takes you farther along the waterfront before turning.

Trust me, there’s no bad view either direction.  And the smell of the sourdough bread baking at the Bourdenave Bakery is simply divine!

When you return to the park you enter from behind center field into the ball park and it’s a sprint to the finish line from there.  The Jumbotron is lit up capturing runners coming in to the finish.  After the race you can wander around the infield, taking photos against the outfield walls, in the dugout, etc.

And of course, you get the usual swag; tee shirt, finisher medal, snacks at the end, and the beer stands are open.  And the capper is a SF Giants player bobble head doll.  My son loves them and I’m happy to add to his collection.  My sweat is his reward I guess.

A 10K race  is a good tune-up run and it will be good for me to see how my marathon training is coming along.  I feel that my running has been improving and it would be nice to run this relatively flat course in a good time.

So I’ll keep you posted and share a picture of Jack’s, I mean my newest bobble-head acquisition on Monday!

And good luck to the racers out there this weekend.  Have fun!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

