Rolling Rolling Rolling Along

Week 2 of marathon training is in the books.  Here’s a quick recap for those who are playing along at home.

The Plan

After some fixes last week I’ve gotten a good handle on the training and pace plan.  And while I’m kind of (kind of?) OCD about training for races I’ve never actually gone so far as to log each run with distance, pace, time, etc.  So for this race I created a spreadsheet with my plan entered per day per week and what kind of workout I need to do, what I actually did and my pacing.  Yes, it takes some set up time but I do enjoy seeing how my runs are going and how well I’m sticking to the plan.  Let’s remind ourselves it’s only week 2.  Here’s what my week ended up looking like.  I had to take an extra day off from running because of my psoas, which I’ll detail more below.

Week 2 Mon 8/22 Tues 8/23 Wed 8/24 Thur 8/25 Fri 8/26 Sat 8/27 Sun 8/28
Scheduled Workout Rest Easy Run 40-50 min Off, X-train or 30 min easy run Off or 30 min easy run Off, X-train or 30 min easy run Long Run 45-60 min Long Run 50-70 min
Goal Pace 9:32 to 10:29 9:32 to 10:29 9:32 to 10:29 9:35 to 10:52 9:35 to 10:52
Distance Rest 5.14 mi 3.2 mi Off-yoga X-train 5.2 mi 7.68 mi
Time 49 min 30 min 50:05 min 80 min
Actual Pac 9:44 9:25 9:38 10:25

The Food

This time around I’m working to fuel myself for the workouts instead of rewarding myself for the effort.  Make sense?  It’s easy to say “I deserve that because I just ran 8 miles” but the reality is, I only burn about 90 calories per mile so if I run 8 miles, that’s only 720 calories.  Eating a burger and fries clocks in at over 1500 calories so um, no.  The math is not in my favor.  Or anyone’s favor unless you are trying to gain weight.  Which is not my goal.  Running is an impact sport and the less junk in the trunk makes it easier on the joints.  Bottom (ha ha, bottom) line.

Yoga/Stretching and Body Work

How’s your psoas?  Never heard of it?  Consider yourself lucky.  Like a cranky, overtired, and hungry toddler, it makes its’ displeasure known loudly.   The psoas is a band of tissue that connects the front of your hipbone (hip flexor) around the back and anchors itself in the lumbar region.  It’s purpose is to work with the other muscles in your abdominal region to move your hip joints.

Nestled very deeply you won’t even know it’s there.  Until it’s annoyed.  And for about 2 weeks mine was pissed off.  It made sitting and sleeping very uncomfortable and painful and it wasn’t getting better, even with the heating, stretching and few days of easier running.   So I went in and got myself some treatment.

My guy Ron (Ron Solari is a local chiropractor – message me if you need someone, he’s amazing) got me in right away, diagnosed that my psoas had locked up and was pulling on my glute, therefore causing the problem.  He did a very minor adjustment, some stimulus pads for about 20 minutes, and sent me home with homework in the form of some intense stretches.  Pelvic tilts, hip flexors on the floor and using a foam roller, a cross over leg thing that feels amazing.

After a few days I went back in and he was pleased that the spasming had calmed and it was starting to release.  As long as I promise to continue with the stretches and make sure I’m not going too crazy with my pacing he gave me the ok to resume my training.  I guess if you’re looking at it from an outsider’s point of view I have a lot of problems but in reality, I’m noticing things because I’m actually paying attention to and addressing them instead of sticking my head in the sand and hoping it would get better.  Such progress.  LOL

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

