A Hamster on a Wheel

My first week of the training plan for my upcoming marathon is over and despite of some “technical things” I had to work out it’s been good.   Here’s a recap for those who are interested or need a good laugh 🙂

The Plan

First, the plan I originally selected had me starting on a Monday with a long run on a Saturday.  But my long run days are Sunday so the structure of the plan was always a day off which was annoying to me.  And if you know anything about me, I like structure.  So a coach at McMillan helped me fix my plan and I’m good to go.  Rest day today.  Woo Hoo.

Secondly, and kind of most importantly is my pace.  My plan had training paces that seemed very slow to me.  Like, over a minute and a half slower per mile.  So I ran at my usual pace for the training this week and no harm no foul I figure that I’d get it worked out.  Imagine my surprise this morning when I went back in and re-calculated my race goal to upload my training paces and realized I didn’t have my plan loaded correctly.  So with my new paces entered properly for a 4:15 goal marathon (yes, I dropped it from 4:25). What I like about this plan is that they provide a range of paces for all of the runs.  This is a good feature.

The Food

I had planned to really get my diet back in line last week but couldn’t quite get my “ess” together.  School started on Thursday and I tried to muddle through with what was left in the fridge.  This is always a bad idea.  We took out and went out too much last week .  Today, however, I have my weekly menu planned, fresh groceries in the fridge, a pot of un-stuffed cabbage soup on the stove and oatmeal in my belly.   That’s a good start.

Yoga/Stretching and Body Work

Adding a daily yoga practice to my workout regimen was easy during the summer.  With school back in session, not so much.

But, I’m committed.  So after a run I’m either doing a runner yoga practice or a long stretching sequence.  I’ve found some additional resources that are designed to keep me mobile and more supple.  And who doesn’t want to be supple?  🙂  On my off running days I’m trying to get in 10-20 minutes of yoga, and if it’s not in the morning, it’s in the evening or before bed.  I find it helps calm my mind.  Yes. I really just said that.

I also had a massage for the first time in over 5 years.  It was delightful in an “oh my gosh that hurts so good” kind of way.  He also gave me some foam rolling techniques and additional stretching ideas to help counter my time on the road.  I sound like a trucker.  But you know what I mean.  More importantly, I will go back.  He’s that good 🙂

Ok, that’s it in a nutshell. Onto Week 2!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

