Getting it all on paper

It’s t-minus 7 days until marathon training kicks into gear.  I had a very strong  running week and was able to add mileage without any additional aches or pains.  I will attribute that to the daily yoga practice that I’m still, well, practicing.

So as I get close to kick off for the program I have a few things on my to-do list.  The first thing is scheduling.

Over the weekend I took some time, sat down and logged my running and workout schedule on my calendar.  And it looks manageable.  I also added a column to tally my weekly mileage, which I’d never really tracked before.  But the tricky part came when I started to add all of my work, family and other responsibilities onto that same calendar.  I needed to get a true idea of what my days will look like with it all added in.

Boot-camp and running are done first thing in the morning.  Check.  Personal training clients.  Check.  Then there’s time at the office for my job.  Check.  Pick up from school is 2:30ish.  Check.  Soccer practice for the teen is twice a week, high school volleyball is daily.  Check.  She can drive.  BONUS points!  Soccer practice for the 10 year old is twice a week. Check.  He can’t drive.  Bummer!  Plus there will be some volunteer gigs I’ll take on at the schools and a bunch of school functions as we start the new school year.  And I can’t forget any plans we have for social stuff. That has to be factored in.  If I’m out of town, how can I get the long run in, etc.

Let’s just say the calendar is looking a bit crowded.  But the purpose and benefit of this exercise is to get that clear picture of my training in my day to day life.  Especially since I’m devoting more time and energy to my training.  I can’t add more time to my day and to be honest, I’m useless after 7pm so being careful and mindful of the planning is very important.

And since I’m a planner, a plotter, an organizer, there’s something weirdly comforting about looking at it all on paper.  I feel less-stressed.  And hopeful that I’ll be able to keep all of the balls in the air.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

