Training Countdown

My marathon training program kicks off in a few weeks.

I signed up for the McMillan Running Program and picked a 16-week training plan for the CIM in December.  It’s a pace-oriented plan that will, quite frankly, push me out of my comfort zone and if all goes well will make me a more fit and faster runner.

The challenge for me is that while I’m comfortable with distance, I’m not comfortable with speed and pacing.  My normal runs are 4, 6 or 8 miles at pretty much the same pace. Adding speed work and the other components of the training will require me to be a little more precise about my runs and I also have to plot out an extra day or two of running.

After some research and recommendations I selected this program because it offered a wide variety of plans for all levels of runners and I like their approach and the support that’s offered.  Right now I’ve jumped on to one of their maintenance plans to keep me on track prior to my official plan kicking off on August 15 kicks in.  I’m looking forward to the weekly plans and where it will take me.

So stay tuned for updates and I’ll let you know how it goes.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

