DIY Marathon Training Group

So as I posted recently, it’s marathon year.   I also have some serious goals this time around.  I want to be able to race hard and make this my strongest marathon yet.  Since I may be 10 and done, this is important to me.

Recently I put two action items on my agenda (because I’m all about action items these days).

  •  Register for the race.

Check.  I’m an official entrant in the 2016 California International Marathon on December 4, 2016.  And if I’m not mistaken (not that it makes any difference to me) it’s the last chance to qualify for the 2017 Boston Marathon.  Again, just sharing info.

  • Find a group and plan for the race.

This action item has been a bit tougher.  I’m deciding between two Runner’s World programs.  One is based on a 3 day a week plan and the other is a more conventional 4 to 5 day a week plan.  But I’m not worried about that part, I’ll decide this week.  The other part, finding a group or club to train with has been really hard.

I’ve checked out some online groups.  I’ve checked out some local running clubs and some based in San Francisco.  Meh.  I’ll be honest, I’m not inspired.

What I’m looking for is a community of runners that are sharing the same goal and want accountability and some support in their training for a late fall or winter marathon.  I want to share ideas, training, find out what’s working, what’s not, get inspired, be inspiring, give or get a gentle kick in the tush when needed, support and be supported by others while we train.

So because I have not been able to find one, I’m creating my own.  With all of my free time (snort).

Stay tuned for details on the group, where you can find us and how you can participate.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

