Goal-Focused Training

If I’m not training for an event my workout intensity drops dramatically.  Now that doesn’t mean I stop exercising but I’ll be the first to admit that my weekday runs will drop from 5 or 6 miles to 3 or 4.  And if I can get in more than a 6 miler on a Sunday I’m lucky.

I know from experience that I need something on the calendar that I can work towards. I need to have a training plan in place so I don’t have to think about how far I need to run (or how little I can get away with).  I just look at the calendar and go for my 6 mile run.  There’s no thinking.  An no thought process means no debate which means no skipping or cutting it short.  See.  Brilliant!

I call it goal-focused training.

So if you’re a runner, register for an event.  Hang on now.  Wait.  Did I say marathon?  Did I say half marathon?  No.  A 5k is perfect.  It’s 3.25 miles and unless you’re running an Olympic trial or an actual meet, you can walk as much of it as you like.

But why do you have to register for a race?  Because training for a race will give your workouts purpose. 

Then there’s the mental shift.  Say these two sentences aloud:

  1.  I’m going on a walk with Mary today.
  2. I am training with Mary today.

Now I’m no genius but #2 makes you sound pretty tough.  You’re not walking, you’re training.  Cool, right?  And when you start training for an event you’ll not only develop some serious street cred BUT you will become an inspiration for your peeps.  No joke.

So pick a race a few months away and register.   Determine where you are and what you need to do to be race-ready (whatever that means to you) and mark your workout in your calendar.  Just like that, you’re training for an event. Nice work!

Once you start training the quality of your workouts will improve.  You will get stronger.  You will feel an amazing sense of accomplishment when you train for and compete in the race.   I promise.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

PS – Not sure where to start?  Email me and I’ll help you out.

Leave a Reply

