Meditation Life Hack

According to Wikipedia, Meditation is a practice where an individual trains the mind or induces a mode of consciousness, either to realize some benefit or for the mind to simply acknowledge its content without becoming identified with that content, or as an end in itself.

buddahHealth and wellness experts tout the benefits of practicing meditation to create calmness, peace and a greater sense of well being.  Being how I’m wired, the thought of 30 or even 60 minutes of sitting and breathing makes me anxious so I committed to a 5 minute practice each night.   Baby steps.

The hardest part for me at first was ignoring the chaos going around me.  Kids arguing, doors banging, the tv turned up loud in one room, the teenager’s iPhone blasting music through the tinny speakers.  Often times someone would come in the room ask what I was doing.  After a few snarly exchanges my family has learned to come in quietly, get what they need and leave.

After a few weeks I decided to up the game and go for a 10 minute stretch.  That failed a few times.  I just couldn’t go from 5 to 7 or even 10 minutes without a struggle.

So I went to iTunes, did a search and found my guy, Adrian Cooke/Your Daily 10 Minute Meditation Podcast.  It’s a guided 10 minute practice.  You can choose between relaxation, stress release, energy, etc.  He has a delightful British accent that is comforting and throughout the podcast you’ll hear birds chirping, water running, leaves rustling.

Many people are surprised that I’m meditating but I really enjoy it and find that the more I do it, the more I look forward to it.  And a bonus is that if I wake up in the middle of the night and have trouble falling asleep I lay there and am able to focus on my breathing and relax.

So if you are looking for a way to calm your mind or just get into a habit that will help you sleep, give it a try.  Now Adrian may not be your cup of tea so I encourage you to search for what suits you.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

