Now For Something Entirely Different

One word.  Podcasts.  podcast

I have a friend who loves them.  Just loves them.  But I just couldn’t quite get into them because when I go for a run I don’t want to fiddle with finding something to listen to and then it running out (no pun) while I was halfway through my 4 mile loop.  I am such a creature of habit that my “Keli’s Running” playlist on iTunes hadn’t been updated in about 5 years.

But over the winter holidays I started some personal development reading and stumbled across some motivational podcasts that I thought might be interesting to listen to on a run. I opened up the Ziglar Show, it’s heavy on goal setting, personal success, leadership, etc., so I decided to give it a shot.

I didn’t think I’d be able to focus on a podcast since my mind tends to wander but it’s amazing what you can learn when you just start to listen.  I like the motivational podcasts because I come back from a run feeling very inspired and ready to take on the day.  But since I’m a runner, I’ve also added a running podcast, Another Mother Runner, and a guided meditation one.

Meditation?  Well, I have tried meditating set to a timer but this guy has a delightful British accent that is very relaxing and great for when I’m trying to wind down.  It’s definitely not good for running!

I’m also finding that having a podcast lined up gets me motivated to get out of the house because I know I have something interesting to listen to.  I know many runners who listen to audio-books feel the same way.

And as I’m listening, I think to myself that I have so much to say that maybe one day I’ll start up a podcast. You never know, stranger things have happened!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

