Tune Out Tech

I don’t know about you but I find myself a little too plugged in.  My smartphone is often close by and I spend a lot of time scrolling through my FB feed or checking email when there’s a lull in the checkout line, before a movie starts or even sitting on the couch with my family.

Many parents talk about “screen time” with their kids and joke to each other about how their teens are glued to their phones and text each other while sitting inches away from one another.

Sadly, adults are no better.   While we may have come late to the tech party we’re like catholic school girls on Spring Break; working hard to catch up.  Just go to your local Starbucks or park and you’ll see Moms and Dads with phones in hand.

No judgement here because I’m guilty too.  So while out of town over the holidays I unplugged for a day.

I mean, the reality is, I’m not that important so my emails and check-ins on FB can wait.   I was able to sit on my balcony watching the waves or reading some magazines.  Yes, real magazines!

Sure I fought the urge to post or scroll or check my email but I got over it.  (Except that one time but I was so happy that my daughter took a picture with me I had to share!)

I’d like to say I’m going to take a stand and set myself up for a no-tech day each week.  I can’t guarantee that will happen but at least I can be more aware.

Remember, accepting you have a problem is the first step!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

