You. Improved.

I wanted to share something profound with you as we run full-steam into 2016.  Unfortunately, I ran full-steam into some writer’s block so all I could come up with is this.  You are the driver of the bus.  You hold the key to the kingdom.  You run this show.  And the only thing stopping you from reaching your goals is YOU.  And it starts with identifying what you really really want (oh yes I did just go Spice Girls on you).

I know we’ve all made bullshit goals in the past.  A few years ago I thought I’d log all of my running miles for the year.  That lasted maybe a week.  Why?  Because I realized I really didn’t care how many miles I ran in a year.  I would run what I was going to run based on what I needed to do for training.   Another year I made a goal to cook a new recipe every week.  And while I love to cook, having to pull a new recipe every week added stress to my life instead of enriching it.  So I punted that one too.

So, boys and girls, the conclusion I’ve come to is that to reach a goal, it needs to be something that you really, really, really want and something that you really, really, really will work towards.

So, to be successful you need a plan.  And you’ll have to do some work.

  • List your goal and be specific. “I want to run a half marathon in July” is specific.  “I want to run more” is too generic.  More, like a mile more?
  • List the whys and what fors. What will you get out of reaching this goal?  Why is it important? (hint – if you don’t have at least one why or what for, pick another goal).
  • List the steps you’ll need to take to reach this goal.
  • List the obstacles you may face and how to overcome them.
  • Create a mantra.  “I run with ease and power”,  “I am a runner”, “Just do it”. Repeat often.  Write it down where you can see it.
  • Visualize success.  I’m getting all into visualizations.  I’ve used them for running races in the past and now am using them to “see” myself if other, non-running scenarios.  Here’s how it works.  Imagine you are running a half marathon.  See how good you are doing at mile 5!  Now you’re at mile 10 and maybe a bit tired but you are strong, well trained and watch how you re-focus and re-engage.  Feel yourself crossing the finish line.  See your family cheering for you.  Hear the crowds.  I promise, this is a very powerful tool.
  • Share your goal with friends.  Correction.  Share your goal with supportive friends.  You’ll know immediately if you shared with the wrong friend.  Self-doubt and anxiety will set in quickly.  Drop the convo like it’s hot and find a new comrade.
  • Now put your plan into action.  Follow the steps you outlined, read your mantra, visualize your success.  If you face a roadblock, pull out your list of things to do if the wheels fall off and go from there.  Successful people don’t give up if one thing goes wrong.  They are brilliant at end-arounds.

I know, it looks like a lot of work.  And it is.  But if what you wanted were that easy, you’d already have it.  Right?

I believe in you.  I know you have what it takes to reach your goal, whatever it is.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

PS – My goals for 2016?  I’m branching out into health coaching.  I want to work with people to help them not only set their goals but to lay out a plan and help them reach them.  I’m still working out all of the details and will roll the program out soon.  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

