A Grateful Runner

In the spirit of giving thanks I’d like to share a few of the reasons that I am a grateful runner.

  1. My family gets my running.  My kids greet me in the morning, not with “good morning” but with a  “How was your run?”.   If I’m in my pj’s when one of my kids wander out of their room I get a “what is this?” and a hand wave indicating my attire is not normal.
  2.  Without running I would not have an outlet for the crazy that lives inside my head.   It allows me precious quiet time to process what’s going on in my life. It doesn’t matter if it’s a big issue or small, running saves me every time.  It may not change my circumstance but it provides clarity.
  3. Body image is a tricky thing and only through running have I been able to completely accept and appreciate what this 49 year old body can do.  Sure, a little tighter in places would be nice but when I’m at mile 25 I don’t think about buns of steel, I think about those buns pushing me to the end.
  4. I live in a place that is heaven for trail runners.  Steep climbs, woods, rocks, ravines, cliffs.  Getting off the road and onto the dirt makes me very, very happy.  (We just won’t talk about the critters).
  5. Distance running forces you to learn mind over matter.  It’s that point when your brain says “you’re done” but you still have 8 miles to go until you get back to your car.   Sure there are times when you can’t get out of your head but at least you know you can push through.
  6. Running has opened up a new community to me and I’ve met some of my best friends along the way.  When you train together, share triumphs and struggles (and a sweaty van) you drop the walls that you normally would keep up in casual contact.

Now it’s your turn.  What are you grateful for?  What has running (hiking, Zumba, Spin or swimming) done for you?  Drop me a note, I’d love to hear from you!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

