Serenity Now

Running takes me to a happy place almost immediately.  Not when I first wake up or even when I step outside into the dark and cold, I mean I’m human, just like you.

But when I start to run I get happy.  Even if I left the house mad at my husband, children, or sad about something, running turns that around.  It may not solve the problem but it makes me better able to deal with it.

Today, I had a rare opportunity to amp up my happy.  My son and husband are away at a Gold Country trip for school so it’s just me and the teen.  Luckily she can get herself to school on her own (well, with the help of her friends who drive her) so that left me a chance to sleep in til 5:45am, watch Survivor, get breakfast on the table for the teen, do some work and go out running at around 8:00am.

8:00am on a Thursday?!?!  It’s like a gift from the running Gods!  I took advantage of the daylight and headed to the open space about a mile and a half away.  Technically, it’s 1.3 miles away but whatever.

I’ve talked about this before; I don’t like to run trails on my own.  But this particular trail is populated with tons of walkers, some runners and a lot of people walking dogs.  So I’m safe.  Because I figure in case of a mad coyote attack, the dogs get it first, then the walkers and I can sprint to safety.

Yes.  This is really my thought process.

Anyway so I mosey down the street and up a pretty good hill to the path that leads up to the ridge dividing Terra Linda and Sleepy Hollow.  Plenty of people and dogs (score!) and it’s just GORGEOUS!

It’s a little chilly and sunny and I’m just so damned happy to be up there.  So I took this picture.

run

That’s Mount Tamalpais in the background.  Which reminded me I have to get back out there and do some more running on those trails.  But I digress.

So my little jaunt was only 4 miles but it was a very happy 4 miles.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

