Go Jump in the Lake

I had a great summer with my family!   Like many of you I managed the usual juggle between work and kids (camps, boredom, play date swaps, etc.) and even was able to pull off some much-deserved boat time.

When we head to the lake or any trip I always bring my workout gear. I look forward to running while away.  I enjoy the sights, new locale, climate and even the altitude.

I’ve had numerous conversations with people who seem surprised that my vacation runs are only a few miles.  Maybe 3, sometimes 4 but most often I commit to at least 2 miles every day on vacation.  And for me, even if I’m training for a race , that’s just peachy.  I know that if I maintain fitness for 3 or 4 days I’ll be back in training without any hitches.

Vacation is family time.  It’s time to chill, unwind and relax.  Play games (pickleball anyone?), swim in the lake, waterski or even hop on the tube to be dragged around the lake.  It’s time to sit around at night and look at the stars, play Apples to Apples or just laugh with friends.  Not log miles, sync the Garmin to the laptop in a rare blip of WiFi at the local market.  But that’s just me.

So I run a little, play a lot and come back ready to roll.

I hope you all enjoyed your summer vacations!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

