Become an A.M. Person

Study after study shows that morning exercisers tend to stick with their routines on a more consistent basis than those who exercise in the afternoon or evening.  If for no other reason than there haven’t been any work, home or family crises yet.  (yes, the plural for “crisis” is “crises” for those who are wondering).

I realize that many people work out quite consistently later in the day, thank you very much.  And for years I would be at my desk by 6:00 am, out of the office by 1:45 pm and I’d head straight to the gym.  It worked for my schedule and I would say that I was very consistent.

But, if you are struggling with getting in a workout after work, during your lunch break or after school drop offs but before preschool pick ups you may want to evaluate your schedule and try and fit in that early morning run or class.

It does require a shift in bedtime schedules and the ability to roll out of bed without thinking.  But if you get in the habit of taking care of business first thing, I am confident that you will succeed.

And the brilliant part is you don’t have to do it every day.  Plan to get up early 2 days during the week (say Monday and Wednesday) and then take the weekend to get out when the sun is up and you have more time.

Give it a try and let me know how it goes.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

