Why I Exercise

In order to change your life there has to be a buy-in and a reward.   When you make excuses for not eating healthfully or not exercising, you simply haven’t been able to find your buy-in and you most definitely can’t see what the reward (or end result) will be.

So today, I’m going to give you  the top 10 reasons why I exercise.  Maybe you’ll see one or two that speaks to you.  And maybe, just maybe, it will help nudge you towards a healthy lifestyle.

And if not, you at least get a glimpse into my crazy brain.  Here you go, in no particular order.

  1. Exercising clears my mind.  When I run, I sort out conflicts, plan my day and, hand to God, it helps spark my creativity.
  2. I like cake.  While you can’t out-exercise a bad diet (and trust me, for years I tried) it is true that when you exercise often and keep your diet clean most of the time you can indulge a bit without it causing too much damage.
  3. It sets a good example for my kids.   Every day they see me going to or coming back from a run, teaching a class or training someone.  That they see me taking the time to care for myself is a very good thing.
  4. Sports.  I love to play soccer, water ski, snow ski, run trails and swim in the ocean.  Staying fit allows me to do these activities without worrying if I’ll be a “weekend warrior” statistic.
  5. Did someone say half-marathon?  It would be painful but I could run one tomorrow.  Being able to participate in activities like this is very important to me.
  6. I like to be strong.  Have you ever hugged anyone and they were kind of squishy?  Like a marshmallow wrapped around a stick?    I’d much rather be sturdy.
  7. The challenge.  There’s something very satisfying about pushing myself hard and reaping the rewards.  Whether it’s toeing up to a starting line of a race or picking the tougher path on a trail, it is an awesome feeling.
  8. Age.  I’m not getting any younger and exercise will help maintain my quality of life as I tip-toe towards 50 and beyond.
  9. It allows me to meet like-minded people and make new friends.  Having a common fitness goal is a great bonding experience.  My friends and especially my class motivate and push me and I try and do the same.  It’s a win-win!
  10. It makes me happy.    I don’t always start out happy but when the endorphins kick in watch out.

Ok, that’s my list.  Your turn!  Please send me the reasons you exercise!

Who knows, you just may inspire someone to take that first step out the door!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

