Like a Box of Chocolates

Running while on vacation is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re going to get.

I make a point of running most days while I’m on vacation. They are a great way to check out the sites, learn about the area, meet some people and do some exploring.

As I’ve mentioned before, I can easily get caught in a running rut. Same loop or loops a few times each week. It’s dependable, routine, and boring.

Running in a new place is fun. Fresh. Exciting. Most recently I had a chance to run in South Lake Tahoe. I don’t think I’ve run at that high an altitude before but I loved it. It was so green and lush and it’s a place built for active people. Even at 6:30am on the 4th of July there were a lot of people walking, running or doing Yoga near the beach. It energized me. And left me short of breath a few times. 7000 feet above see level will do that!

And contrary to what you might think, running gear doesn’t have to take up a lot of space in a suitcase. You only need shoes, a pair of socks, shorts and a short or long sleeve tee. Toss in a hat and your music and you’re good to go. You can wash out your stuff after every run and leave it on a chair or hanging by the tree to dry. The next morning it’s good to go.

So the next time you are going away, plan for a run. Check in with the hotel concierge or call a local running store and ask them for a good place to run might be. You’ll be so happy that you did!

Now go run!
Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

