Clarity through Running

I kid you not, my brain works better when I run.  And before you think I’m some weirdo (ahem) it’s not like I take a few steps and I’m solving quadratic equations in my head.

It’s more like a fog is gently lifting with every step I take and by the time I’m about a mile in my thought process turns from “I should be sleeping” to sorting out my scheduling quandaries, figuring out how to manage a work project, or what to make for dinner.

I’m very adept at solving interpersonal conflicts when I run.  I (silently)  speak my peace and then anticipate how the other person will react.  It’s quite ingenious, if I do say so myself.  I’m able to work out different scenarios and figure out the best way for me to say what I need to say.  Sometimes I find myself gesturing with my hands (no – not my finger – my hands) and some drivers have mistaken that for a wave, so it appears that I’m very friendly.

I also get very motivated when I run and have this feeling that I can take on much more than I actually can.  Hence my 5:30am and 7:00am classes on school breaks and my very popular Saturday (or Sunday) Boot-Camps.  Those ideas all ‘came to me’ while running.  You’re welcome.

This Jedi Mind Trick doesn’t work for me when I walk, hike or swim.  It definitely doesn’t happen when I ride a bike or playing soccer.  It only happens when I run.  I am sure there’s some scientific study that completely explains it.  Runner’s high maybe?

Regardless of what causes it, I do know that when you are faced with some kind of difficult decision or need to get a little clarity, give running a try.  And if you can’t run, at least go for a walk and let your mind wander.  You never know what you may work out.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

