Weekly Focus Point – Plan for Success

I’ve been getting super progress reports and feedback from participants of our New You 12-Week Challenge!  Keep up the good work everyone!

This week’s Focus Point is planning. 

I am a planner by nature and pretty organized so even if I don’t have something mapped out from start to finish, I do have it roughly sketched out in my head.   This is especially true with my workouts, my running and my meals.

And I can say this with a high level of certainty – if you have specific fitness, weight or nutrition goals that you wish to reach, you too, need to start planning, plotting and setting up your week – because life gets in the way.  Now it may seem like more work, but soon it will become just another healthy habit.So here are 3 tips to help you set yourself up for success.

Schedule your Workout Appointments

Start writing your planned exercise sessions, your run, laps at the pool or walks with your friend in your calendar as an appointment.   Do NOT just write “workout” at the bottom or top of your calendar – be specific.  Tuesday, April 29, 2014:  5:45am – Run 4.75 miles. 

Think About Your Meals

Plan your meals, or at least have a good idea of what you’ll be eating for breakfast and lunch at the minimum.  This is where I think it’s OK to have a rut.  I eat the same breakfast and lunch Monday through Friday for weeks, sometimes months at a time.

For breakfasts most recently it was 4 egg whites “fried” in a pan, on a whole wheat sandwich thin smeared with an ounce of avocado.   My lunches are either soup with chicken, turkey or beans or a big salad with chicken, turkey or beans (sometimes I get crazy and have turkey and beans).  And I always have some fruit for a snack around 10ish and some fruit with my lunch.

I know my meals are filling, balanced, healthy and most importantly will keep me satisfied.   If I go out to lunch or breakfast, I take a few minutes to think about what I will have ahead of time.  This pre-planning helps me make smart menu choices.

For dinners I will take a post-it and rough out the week.  Here’s this week:  Mon – turkey tacos; Tue – out; Wed – Pasta; Thur – Leftovers (whatever is in the fridge that I can combine for a meal); Fri – golf tournament; Sat – out; Sun – Steak.  Sometimes I mix up the days depending if the schedule changes.

Knowing what you’ll eat and/or make for the week will help you at the supermarket and when it’s 5pm and you realize you and your brood need dinner!

Be Flexible

There’s an old joke that goes like this, “How do you make God laugh?  Plan.”  Even your well thought-out, detailed plans can get upended by stuff.  You may get sick, your husband and kids may get sick, you may be sick of your kids and husband, or sometimes, Birthday Cake happens.

But having planned out your next workout and next meal will be INCREDIBLY helpful in getting you back on track so you can reach your goals.

So your task this week is to schedule your workouts and plan or roughly sketch out your meals for the week (at least breakfast and lunch).  Let’s start building (or improving upon) your healthy habits!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

