It’s Monday so I’m Cooking

Monday mornings are my cooking days.  It’s 8:43am right now and I have a huge pot of vegetable soup simmering on the stove, some boneless pork ribs in the slow cooker and chicken breasts poaching in some broth.

I love my vegetable soup.   It’s got onions, celery, carrots, mushrooms, chopped green beans and cabbage and I’ve added some tomato paste and half a jar of salsa for some kick.  I don’t follow a recipe I just add whatever veggies I have on hand.  Of course I liberally add garlic, spices and red pepper flakes.  (Did I mention I like a kick?).

This soup will be my lunch for the week.  I’ll ladle a bunch into a bowl and add 1/2 c of garbanzo or black beans and about 4 ounces of chicken (hence the chicken cooking on the next burner).  Some days I skip the chicken and go vegetarian.  As it gets later in the week I’ll add some other leftover protein in there to make it a meal.  It has a ton of veggies in each serving and is a filling, hot lunch at the office.

The ribs are for dinner tonight.  We have softball and volleyball (my daughter) and my son has baseball so it’s either eat at home or out.  Again.  I love to eat out but making healthy choices out can be challenging and besides, I ate out the past 2 days.  I’ll make rice and a huge salad and it will round out the meal nicely.

Prepping food for the week is a great habit to get into.  I find that it helps me stay on track with healthy eating and ensures I’m not forced to grab food on the go.  We don’t always make great choices when we are at the store and we’re hungry.  You may be able to relate.

My family is used to the house smelling like a restaurant when they wake up on Mondays.  Pots and pans and dishes strewn about as I’m chopping and sauteing, it’s kind of chaotic.  But it’s going to taste so good!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

