Checking under the hood

Last month was my 47th birthday.  Yay me!  And while many people celebrate a birthday in all sorts of manners, my goal for the month was to get all of my necessary check-ups done including a blood test.

For the past 6 months I have done an overhaul on my eating habits.  Smaller portions, smarter snacking, etc.  And since I hadn’t had a blood workup done in about a decade I was curious to see what the numbers would reveal.

So I fasted for the 12 hours as directed by my doctor and rolled in to the blood testing  center about 3 minutes after they opened at 8:00am.  Got a few vials of blood taken and I was out the door and shoving breakfast in my face within a few minutes.  (Have I mentioned how I hate to be hungry?)

The next day I got my results back and was pleased.  All within healthy ranges and I get a bonus gold star for my low triglycerides, LDL cholesterol (the bad kind) and high HDL cholesterol (the good kind).

There is diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol and heart disease in my immediate family so having some evidence that my choices are having a positive impact on my health is a good thing.

I’d like to encourage you all to take a few minutes and make the necessary appointments to check on your health.  A mammogram, a check up with the OB, and of course making sure you are getting your blood tested to catch treatable things such as high cholesterol, etc.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Checking under the hood

  1. Way to go Keli and way to inspire others!! You are wonderful and do many wonderful things for a lot of people! Keep up the good work and happy belated bday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

