When the wheels on the bus come flying off..

I recently ran into a friend who had been training for a full Ironman event.  We chatted for a minute to catch up and of course I asked him about his training for the race.  He confessed that he’d decided that he was not going to be able to do the race due to some nagging injuries.

We talked about his decision not to do the race and how hard it is to cancel or drop out of an event.  I totally empathize because when the wheels come off your training and you realize you are not going to be able to do a race it can be very demoralizing.

I’ve had to cancel 2 races this summer due to some training injuries (mine) and a broken ankle (my husband).  I have a half marathon planned in early October but due to some serious health issues (my father) I’ve not been able to train as I normally would.  But I’m still running and still getting out there.

Because when life throws you a curve ball you still have to find a way to hit it out of the park.  I guess that’s the take away for anyone who is facing a setback with training, exercising or eating well.  Assess the situation, regroup and take a step forward.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

