Pity Party, Table for 1

Yuck.  I have been dealing with this skin thing, this condition I’ve been calling “mange” for about a month.

It started out as some bumps on my neck and chest that looked like a swarm of mosquitoes had descended on me in my sleep.  But the bumps didn’t itch, they were just bumps.

A few days later there were more – then they started to spread.  A few on my chest, a few on my upper back, one on my leg.  Again, not itchy.

Bedbugs, one person said.  Hives, said another.  Allergic reaction, thought my husband. I boiled my sheets and pillow cases, threw out my lotion and slathered on calamine to be sure.

They were going away (or so I thought).  The next week I put  on a very cute sundress for my daughter’s 8th grade graduation.  I turned to get a back view and was horrified.  My entire back was covered in bumps.  Some fleshy colored, some kind of scabby looking.  Oh.  My.  God.  I had mange.

The next day I made an appointment with my doctor.  I went in and she took one look at my back, arms and neck, assured me it wasn’t bug bites or bedbugs.  It was called pityriasis rosea, a common skin rash that leads to these horrible-looking bumps.  That was the good news.  The bad news was that there’s no cure or treatment and these suckers would be around for a while.  At least 4-6 weeks; and that’s a conservative estimate.  I’ve read (WebMD is both a blessing and a curse) that it can take up to 6 months for it to go away.  And apparently, it just goes away, vanishes.  Poof.

Because I’m a horribly vain person, I’m really bothered by my spots.  I feel the need to explain to, well everyone what’s going on.   It’s a bummer, to say the least.  Especially since it’s summer and I have a whole lotta sundresses just waiting to be worn.

So I got to bed hoping I’ll wake up one morning and be pleasantly surprised with clear skin.  Until then, I’ve got “mange”…

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

3 thoughts on “Pity Party, Table for 1

Leave a Reply

