Half-Marathon Training Update

I’ve been training for a half-marathon since mid-March.  Originally my little group had planned to run a new race in the wine country but about a month ago they cancelled the race.  It’s kind of lame to cancel a race, in my opinion, but they didn’t ask and there you go.

This left our running group in a quandary; what to run and where would we have to go to run?  The selling point of the original half was it was a) close (meaning no hotel stay or flight required) and b) relatively flat. *In full disclosure, the flat part didn’t matter to me but when you’re training in a group sometimes you have to yield. 

So with our race cancelled and our panties in a bunch we needed to find something for June and pronto.  We were in the middle of training for crying out loud!

Enter the Wipro SF Marathon.  This event not only offers the full marathon (which was not in the cards this time) but two half marathons.  You could opt for the first half of the race or the second half.  I immediately decided we should do the first half because it was a much more picturesque course that included running across the Golden Gate Bridge.  I also believe there are a few more hills involved 🙂

A few years back I paced the second half of this race.  I had a stick with my pace time and ran with complete strangers.  My job was to motivate and keep them within 2 minutes (on either side) of 2:10.  It was a lot of fun and I tried to be entertaining and encouraging and also made sure we met our goals.

See, here I am!  Image (2)

This  year, no stress of pacing a team! I’m just looking forward to running the race with my friends.

This weekend we’ll be hitting our 10 mile run then an 11 or 12 before our June 16th race.  I know we are all looking forward to it and more importantly, trying to figure out where we should grab lunch and a beer afterwards!

Now go run

Keli 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

