Feeling like a million bucks!

Exercising is a top priority to me and the reason that it’s numero uno on my list is that I love how it makes me feel.  Do I always love it at that very moment?  Ok – bad example because I can honestly say that sweating and working out hard is truly joyful to me.  Yes, even in that moment!

So let’s ask that question to you guys…do you always love working out? I mean as you are doing it?  I have a feeling there’s a lot of resistance out there!

Even the gals who take my boot camp class are not always loving it as they complete their 5th circuit or running line drills.  But, (and this is really, really important) they love how they feel afterwards.  They love how they feel the rest of their day.  And I’m not making this up, this is the number one thing I hear from them.  Well, that’s probably tied with I’m a bit too chipper for 5:30am.

So if you are having a love-hate (or hate-hate) relationship with exercising, forget about the here and now and fast forward to how good you are going to feel afterwards.  That “after” feeling will keep you going a lot further than the dread you feel before you workout.

Try this exercise.  Set your alarm, plan to meet a buddy for your walk, or lay out your running clothes the night before.  And when that alarm trills, or you are done with your work day – think about how great you’ll feel after your workout is complete.  Do this as you are lacing up your shoes or shimmying into your bike shorts and keep thinking about it as you drive to meet your friend or as you step outside into the chill of the morning.  Do this enough times and soon you’ll start to look forward to the actual process as well.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

 

One thought on “Feeling like a million bucks!

  1. I got my bike serviced and new attachments ready to go when I get back! Totally love how I feel after I exercise! Prior to my trip a friend suggested I make a weekly plan for exercising and I was surprised how I stuck to it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

