Monday Morning Motivation

I had a dream last night that I was teaching class and could not do a pushup.  Even when I tried to do one on my knees I couldn’t do it.  I felt weak.  And I hate feeling weak.  Been there, done that.

I truly do empathize when people tell me they are afraid of being last on a run or the most out of shape person in my class.  When I started training for my first marathon in 2000, I was one of the last ones to finish the training runs.  When I started taking boot camp classes while on maternity leave in 2006 I could not do a military style pushup.

Was I embarrassed?  Sure, nobody  likes to come in last.  Nobody likes to feel like a weakling.  But I was not going to let that stop me.

With hard work and consistency, I am faster and can do a lot of military style pushups.  Still there are times when I’m working towards a goal when I’ll have bouts of self-doubt.  But then I tell myself what I tell everyone else.

You can do it.  Take it one step, one pushup, one mile at a time.

Now go run!

 

 

Leave a Reply

