Your Resolution Evolution

So here we are, the 15th day of the new year.  For those of you who started 2013 with a resolution to exercise regularly or eat more healthfully I just want to ask one thing.

How’s it going so far?

When you start exercising or eating healthfully, you are fueled with motivation and the promise of change.  Unfortunately, that feeling doesn’t last which is why so many people who join a gym in January never darken the doors past mid-month.

So if statistics prove correct, you may be struggling  and need a boost.  Well, I’ve been thinking about this very topic.  So here’s a tip to show you how to stay motivated on your journey.  But first, you’re going to need a pen and some paper.  But trust me, there will NOT be a test afterwards!

Step 1

On your sheet of paper I want you to make a list of all of the great things that eating well or exercising regularly has done or is doing for you.  Write as many things as you can and be specific.  Here’s the list I thought of this morning during my run.  It’s just an example because my list would be super long.

Why I love running

  1. clears my head
  2. makes me feel strong
  3. wakes me up
  4. makes me feel less stressed
  5. tightens my legs
  6. i look pretty bad-ass trucking up big hills
  7. makes me feel healthy
  8. it motivates me to eat well
  9. it’s fun
  10. beautiful sunrises (cause I run at 6:30am)
  11. i connect with other running friends
  12. Mt. Tam
  13. it burns a ton of calories
  14. i get to wear cute running shoes
  15. i love tracking my miles
  16. training for races is fun
  17. the challenge
  18. trails
  19. hills
  20. etc…etc…etc

Step 2

  • Take this list and tape it where you will see it every day (above the computer monitor is a great place).
  • Now take a bunch of post-it notes and write one of your reasons for doing what you are doing on each post-it.
  • Post these notes all over the place.  On your bathroom mirror, on the fridge, in your car, wherever.
  • If you are a big fan of social media, post or tweet a reason per day on your favorite site.
  • Read this list.  Everyday.

Reading this list over and over and over again will automatically connect you to the enjoyment and enthusiasm you have right now and will help motivate you to continue these healthy habits.  It’s a twist on the “fake it ’til you make it” philosophy.

The experts say it takes 21 days to create a new habit.  So go write your list, post it where you can read it every day and let the new habit be formed!

What on earth do you have to lose?

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

