Knowing when to ‘take a knee’

I’m sure there are days when you’d rather not get up at the crack o’early to take a class, run, or go for that power walk.  Most of the time you need to ignore the desire to curl up in a tiny, warm ball and get your tushie out of bed, into your kicks and hit the road.

There are times (rare times) when staying in bed is the better option.  Illness and injury, obviously, but sometimes your body and brain requires sleep and rest.

Today, for example,  I awoke at 2:00 am, alert and completely unable to get back to sleep.  I got up, made coffee, watched some crappy TV, hit the computer for some work, did a little cooking for later, got my 8th grader out of bed at 5:45am, tossed on my running clothes for a planned 6 mile run, got out the door by 6:20am, dropped the 8th grader off at her early volleyball practice and promptly turned the car around, drove home and got back into bed!

I had a surprisingly brief struggle with myself over my missed run.  However, as I was driving home I realized how very tired I was and decided that the extra hour or so of sleep and rest I could garner would be worth a skipped run.

As many of you know, I don’t normally bag a workout without even putting a step onto pavement.  Today I just had to take a knee and get off the field. Tomorrow is another day!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

2 thoughts on “Knowing when to ‘take a knee’

Leave a Reply

