Yoga Nation

So I just completed my 5th day of Yoga and I have a few comments.  (First, let me preface this by saying that my yoga ‘class’ consist of me following along Yoga classes provided by OnDemand via my iPad and I’m sticking with programs that are under 30 minutes because of time constraints.)

With that said, here are my observations thus far.

1.  Ouch.  I was correct in assuming at the outset that my body had lost any bend that it once had and any bend that it will have in the future will come about only through a long and painful practice.

2.  Who knew that practicing Yoga in my living room would provide a solid 20-30 minute of amusement for my children.   Alexa laughs at me when my body doesn’t fold naturally like the gal on TV and Jack likes to shout out instructions to me “Mom, their legs are close together.  Mom, move your legs close together.  Mom, your legs!”

3.  Nothing in Yoga is simple.  Simply sitting on your bottom with your legs straight out is not just that.  Your butt and pelvis is grounded, while extending your legs away from your body as you lengthen your thighs, turning your leg bones up and out slightly.  Hands flat on the ground on either side of your hips with your belly and spine lifted, shoulders down with neck and face soft.  See what I mean.  Now, do this really quickly but mindfully because this pose is just a second before you move to something else.

4.  No judgement zone.  In this one hip opening sequence that I’ve done the past few days the instructor has mentioned that we pass “no judgement” on our bodies inability to bend or open as indicated.  So instead of cursing my bodies cement-like bendability I’m to embrace the fact that I’m there, breathing and trying my best.

Now we can’t ask for anything more than that, can we?

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

PS – Namaste

Leave a Reply

