Bring in the clowns

Exercise provides many benefits.  It improves the quality of our bodies, health and life.  It keeps our muscles, joints, ligaments and bones strong.  All in all, exercise is good for you.  As a trainer I love to preach the benefits of exercise.  On the flip side I know it’s important that people enjoy and even sometimes have fun (gasp) while working out.

When I teach class I try very hard to make it a good experience for everyone.  I mean if you are standing in front of me at 5:30am you should be getting a lot out of that hour we have together.  Make no mistake I am a certified personal trainer, I know what I’m doing.  I make you work hard, sweat and I’m pretty sure I hear curses coming in my direction during particularly hard sets.  And while that’s music to my ears, it’s important for me that it’s not all grinding hard work.

I enjoy adding humor, usually at my own expense (my inability to count, for example) to lighten the group, get them thinking about something other than the discomfort they may be feeling.  I love partner exercises for the great bonding experience it brings.  No matter how hard the partner exercises may be, there is usually laughter and a lot of smiles while working in these small groups.   I think It’s ok to take 5 minutes of class time to do something fun and unexpected.  It’s good for the class and it’s fun for me as well.

That is what we call a win-win!  Even with the cursing!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

