Today’s run brought to you by the letter A, as in annoyed

With so many cranky thoughts rattling in my head I started my run today feeling very sluggish.  Even after a mile in I still wasn’t feeling that much better but decided to keep going – in spite of my foul mood.  At around mile 2 I started to feel looser, in every sense.  My pace evened out, I stopped looking at my watch and I started to sort out the mess in my brain.  By the time I got back home after 5 miles I was in a much better place than when I left.  Trust me when I tell you that my family breathed a sigh of relief!

I often say (well, sometimes preach) that exercise is a restorative activity for body and mind.   I have never come back from a run feeling worse than when I started.  Sure I may be sore or tired after a run (which to me is a positive) but my outlook and mood always spikes upward.  So the next time you are in a funk and think that skipping your workout will make you feel better, lace up those shoes and get out there.  I promise you’ll feel better when you get back.  In fact, I can almost guarantee it.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

