Finding what works for you!

I saw a  great ad on tv.  In it, a young gal is seen attempting to mountain bike, run, take pole dancing classes and trying a few at home fitness machines.  She is obviously discouraged because she hasn’t found the workout that is right for her.  In the end she’s seen happily walking on a path listening to music.  The message is no matter what the trends, what workout is “new” and “it” you need to find what works for you.

It’s important to not stop looking for what excites you and motivates you to exercise.  Sometimes stumbling across something that is uber-challenging will inspire you and give you a chance to test your own boundaries.

Here’s a great example.  I can’t dance.  I am a child of the 80’s and my idea of dancing is to sway to the music snapping my fingers, hopefully in time.  This lack of any rhythm whatsoever didn’t stop me from immersing myself in a thrice weekly Hip Hop class at the local 24 Hour Fitness once upon a time.  Knowing how bad I was I positioned myself in the back behind everyone so I wouldn’t catch a glimpse of myself in the mirror.   But regardless of how truly awful I was, I LOVED it and made it my goal to at least get the steps down, even though my version looked nothing like what the teacher or most of the class was doing.

So get out there and keep looking for your best workout and if that something is a bit of a challenge, just think of me trying Hip Hop and get over yourself.  You can do it!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

