From Your Mouth…

Remember the saying “if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all”?   While that phrase generally applies when speaking to other people, I think it’s a good rule to apply to ourselves as well.   Our generation and the ones before us were taught that bragging and tooting our own horn was unacceptable.  We accepted compliments uncomfortably and downplayed our accomplishments.

And while no one wants or likes to be around that person who needs external validation of their greatness, it is a trait that we all could probably use a bit more of.   Women more so than men, I think.   We are very hard on ourselves and tend to self-depreciate more than we should.

It’s ok to be good and, dare I say, great at something.   It’s ok to like yourself, to appreciate yourself, to value yourself.  We work so hard in our lives to make sure that everyone else is doing well, that they feel good and are taken care of. We should also expect it from ourselves!

I would love to hear what makes you special so send me an email and toot your own horn or tell me something you really like about you!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

One thought on “From Your Mouth…

  1. Ohhhh, SNAP! If this doesn’t apply to me, I do not know what else would…..
    Wise advise from a wise woman – I will challenge myself this weekend & readjust my inner workings to meet the challenge of a compliment!
    Thanks for posting as a “snap out of it” reminder is much appreciated 🙂

Leave a Reply

