Giving Your All

Achieving a fitness goal is not easy.  You will be uncomfortable.  You will work hard.  You will sweat.  You will wonder whose bright idea it was.  You will ask yourself and anyone within earshot if it’s worth it.   We’ll just leave that last one as a rhetorical question because we ALL know the answer.

Yes, the reality is you need to push yourself past your comfort level to achieve ANY goal, not just a physical goal.  Becoming a personal trainer meant that I had to bite the bullet and throw myself into science, anatomy and math.   To market yourself or your company you may need to speak to large groups.  Gulp!  Now that’s scary.  But the point is, you do what you have to.

Same goes for reaching a fitness goal.   Your body will adapt to your training and as you get stronger, your fitness level increases.  Then guess what?  Your workout has to adapt to that increase.  The cycle continues as you progress.  The key is you have to keep challenging your body to make it stronger and more able to handle the event.    So when you are having a hard day and the workout feels really tough, remember that you are training your body to perform well in your event.  You will have good and bad training days but it’s important to stick with it.

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

4 thoughts on “Giving Your All

  1. Thanks Keli for the encouragement. I’m running my first marathon 5/29 and am finding it a challenge to juggle being a Mom of 3 active boys, working and taking care of a family in the midst of training. I’m doing a fundraising marathon and I’ve reached my fundraising goal. Right now my motivator is all the people who believed in me enough to support me. I had signed up for a marathon in Feb but was sidelined with a stress fracture–I’m plugging away praying I don’t get injured and can meet this goal. Love your words of wisdom. Thank you–keep writing. Kim

    Like

  2. Hi Kim! I’m so sorry to hear about your stress fracture. Dealing with injury is a tough blow not only physically, but mentally as well.

    My first 4 marathons were for for Team in Training and I will tell you that when the going gets tough in a race – you pull on that entire community of support. You will be successful, of that I have no doubt!

    Keep me posted!
    Keli 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

