Tips for Success!

One very valuable tricks I’ve learned when training for races is visualization.   I don’t visualize winning because that’s just not going to happen, but I do try and visualize myself starting the race relaxed and feeling prepared and then I see myself at mile 15 and how strong I feel.  I see myself crossing the finish line and see the time that I want to cross at.

While visualization is a fantastic tool for racing, it’s also great in any situation where you need to perform or present.  I am preparing to host a webinar for a client and while I’m a bit nervous about doing it, I visualize myself as I do the presentation, feel myself relax as I get into the flow.  I also try to visualize how to handle things if they go awry.  What kinds of questions I should have answers for, what to do it my power point fails, how to present the material if people start going off topic. Doing this helps keep me calm and focused on my task and helps soothe my nerves.

The next time you are preparing for something, whether it be an endurance event or a presentation for work, take a few minutes each night to see your success.  You’ll be surprised at how well it works!

Now go run!

Keli 🙂

Leave a Reply

