Just Breathe!

Like most of you I can create some crazy-long “to do” lists.  Right now I’m studying for an exam I will be taking in 2 1/2 hours, finishing up some work stuff, writing and throwing another load of laundry in the dryer.

When I get too busy, too frantic and too overwhelmed I often find myself with my mouth slightly open breathing very shallow – like a dog panting.   This is not good.

Your body needs oxygen to function and we all could do with a nice, deep breath.   Try it with me.

  • Breathe in slowly, filling your lungs until you can’t fill them any more.
  • Now breathe in a teensy bit more.
  • Hold and release.
  • Do this a few times and notice how your heart rate has decreased and your stress level has dropped.

The next time things get out of control and you feel yourself losing it – step away from the Girl Scout cookies and take in a few deep breaths.

Now go run!

Keli 😉

Leave a Reply

